Very Valencia

More cultural events

Great Valencia Fair

The Great Valencia Fair - Gran Feria de Valencia - is over 240 years old. Known formerly as the July Festival or Fair, it was first created to provide entertainment in the city in the summer, to try to prevent locals leaving for other destinations and to attract visitors from further afield too.

The first festival took place on 21 July 1871, with impressive horseback parades, pavilions, plant exhibitions and markets.

Here are some of this 2017's highlights, you can also download the full programme in English (PDF 1.2Mb) or find more information in Spanish on the Gran Fira de Valencia website.

Viveros Concerts

Live, night time concerts in the Viveros Gardens. Read more...

Date (start times vary between 8.30pm and 10pm, find more information in English on the Viveros Concerts website.) Artists
Friday, 30 June Txarango, Vadebo and Pupil.les
Monday, 3 July Michael Nyman Band
Thursday, 6 July Love of Lesbian
Friday, 7 July Fiesta Reggae Rototom: Alpha Blondy, Iseo & Dodosound and funkiwis
Saturday, 8 July Manel, Gener and Geografies
Tuesday, 11 July Madeleine, Peyroux and Andrea Motis
Wednesday, 12 July La Oreja de Van Gogh
Thursday, 13 July Leive, Santero and Los Muchachos
Friday, 14 July Ara Malikian
Saturday, 15 July Concert for refugees: Slif Keit, Bokanté, Danay and more
Monday, 17 July Chick Corea and Bela Fleck
Tuesday, 18 July Ara Malikian
Wednesday, 19 July UB40
Thursday, 20 July Valencia band night: Riot Propaganda, Zoo and Atupa
Saturday, 22 July Celtic Night: Celtas Cortos, Mago de Oz, Ars Amandi and Irish Treble
Monday, 24 July Jamie Callum
Tuesday, 25 July Carlos Vives

Find a detailed program of concerts and more information in English on the Viveros Concerts website.

Fireworks Festival

Pyrotechnic displays that the Valencians are famous for:

Saturday, 1 July: 8pm in the Plaza del Ayuntamiento.
Saturday, 8 July: 11.30pm in the Plaza de la Virgen
Saturday, 15 July: 11:59pm in Valencia Marina (Juan Carlos I)
Saturday, 22 July: 8.30pm in the Plaza dels Furs
Friday, 28 July: 11pm between Calle Colón and Puerta de la Mar

La Gran Nit de Juliol

The main event of the festival is La Gran Nit de Juliol in Valencian, or La Gran Noche in Spanish. Simply meaning: The Big Night, although many events start in the daytime. Find live music, street theatre and more, all around the city on the second-to-last Saturday of the month.

Battle of Flowers

This fantastically colourful event takes place on the last Sunday of the month in the Paseo de la Alameda in the city centre, and marks the end of the July Festival. Read more...